About Us | Board Meetings | Rules | FAQ | News | Citizen Complaints | Pay Portal
Well Drilling & Pump Installation
ResourcesWell Driller Login Licensed Firms Water Well Record Search Fact Sheet FAQ Rules (Chapter 35) Appendix H OGWA The Private Well Class
Program ContactsCharles O'Malley
The Oklahoma Water Resources Board licenses well drilling and pump installation professionals to ensure the integrity of well construction and prevent pollution of groundwater in Oklahoma. The program is guided by comprehensive standards developed in cooperation with the Well Driller Advisory Council.
Notice of Intent to Drill a Groundwater Well
Any person who intends to drill a groundwater well must apply for authorization and receive approval from the OWRB prior to drilling. Authorization will not be issued for any well location that does not have an active groundwater use permit.
Please contact Charles O’Malley or Jacob Hernandez at (405) 530-8800 for an authorization PIN, and then use the link below to apply. OWRB staff will respond to applications within approximately 5 business days.
Submit a Notice of Intent to Drill a Groundwater Well
* For complete definitions and requirements see OAC 785:30-1-1 and OAC 785:35-13-1. Please note that failure to submit an intent to drill application as required may result in a penalty of up to $5,000 per day per violation.
The standards and rules developed require that all well drilling and pump installation activities meet a minimum set of requirements. These include location of a well in relation to potential pollution sources, installation of surface and annular seals, disinfection methods, approved materials, and other rules designed to protect the groundwater and promote public health. Licensed well drillers and pump installers are required to know and follow these standards to maintain their licenses in good standing.
Who must be licensed?
Anyone who performs any of the following activities in Oklahoma must obtain a license from the OWRB:
Please feel free to reference our list of licensed contractors to make sure that anyone hired to perform well or pump work is a licensed professional.
Find a Well Log
Licensed drillers are required to file a completion report, also referred to as a "well log," within 60 days of completing a new well or plugging or reconditioning an existing well. Well logs can be accessed using the map below.
Top | Site Index | Help | Related Links | Accessibility | Disclaimer
3800 North Classen Boulevard, Oklahoma City, OK 73118
Visit the Oklahoma State Portal