Oklahoma Water Resources Board the Water Agency

Oklahoma Water Pioneers


Conference Brochures (1980-2014)

Oklahoma Governor's Water Conference

The annual Governor's Water Conference attracts hundreds of water officials and citizens who share an avid interest in Oklahoma's water resources. Each year, the latest developments in water management and quality, infrastructure financing, and many other related issues are addressed by state, federal, and local experts. Recipients of the Oklahoma Water Pioneer Award are recognized during a special ceremony.

Register Online Early bird registration rate ends September 16.

Reserve a Room at the Embassy Suites Group Rate available until September 19.

2015 Conference Presentations

Conservation Loves a Crisis: Lessons from North America's Driest City
Doug Bennett, Conservation Manager, Southern Nevada Water Authority

Water Loss Auditing: An Introduction
Brandon Bowman, Capacity Development Coordinator, Oklahoma Dept. of Environmental Quality

Maximizing Southwest Oklahoma's Water Supply Reliability
Brian Bush, Altus Chamber of Commerce, Altus/SW area Economic Development Corp.

EWI Water Management Case Studies, Water Reuse & the Future
Michael Dunkel, Vice President, CH2M

Reclaimed Water Reuse at Fort Sill, OK
Ronnie Graves, General Manager, American Water

Advancing Conservation Goals: The San Antonio Water Story
Karen Guz, Director of Water Conservation, San Antonio Water System

Making Potable Reuse a Reality Through Research-based Public Outreach and Engagement Tools
Bob Johnson, President, WateReuse Association

Communicating Reuse
Ken Komiske, Director of Utilities, City of Norman

Gore/Sequoyah County RWD No. 5 Regionalization Project
Horace Lindley, Administrator, Town of Gore

Aquifer Storage and Recovery in Texas
Robert Mace, Deputy Executive Administrator, Texas Water Development Board

Wichita's Equus Beds ASR Experience
Brian Meier, Project Manager, Burns & McDonnell

U.S. Army Corps of Engineers Tulsa District
Col. Richard Pratt, District Commander

Drought-Proofing Oklahoma: Aqufier Storage Recovery (ASR)
David Pyne, ASR Systems LLC

Drought-Proofing Oklahoma
J.D. Strong, Executive Director, Oklahoma Water Resources Board

Regionalization Success Stories
Jay Updike, President, Holloway, Updike and Bellen, Inc.

Oklahoma City's "Squeeze Every Drop" Conservation Campaign
Bret Weingart, Assistant Director, Oklahoma City Utilities

Aquifer Storage and Recovery Challenges
Dan Yates, Groundwater Protection Council

Oklahoma Water Pioneers

The Oklahoma Water Pioneer Award was initiated in 1985 to honor the men and women who have made significant contributions in the planning, development, management, and conservation of Oklahoma’s water resources. The award is presented each year at the Oklahoma Governor’s Water Conference to individuals who have been nominated as a gesture of appreciation for their wisdom in developing Oklahoma’s great rivers and groundwaters, and for preserving the integrity and beauty of the state’s waters for future generations.

Award Recipients
2015: Bob Chipman, Trudy Rigney, Richard Seybolt, Bill Sims
2014: Jack Keeley, Mike Thralls
2013: Bob Blazs, Patty Eaton
2012: Ed Brocksmith, Ronn Cupp, Phil Richardson
2011: Thomas Lay, Rick Smith
2010: Drew Edmondson, Mike Melton, Diane Pedicord
2009: James Barnett, Steven Moore, Gene Whatley, Jon Craig
2008: Robbie Robbins, Mason Mungle, Garner Garrison
2007: Don Kiser, Jerry Johnston, Ken Crawford
2006: Ervin Mitchell, W.C. Austin
2005: Jay Galt, Julian Fite
2004: Joe Taron, Glenn Sullivan
2003: Clifford Younger, Wes Watkins, Mark Coleman
2002: Murray Williams, Mae Cooper, Frank Condon
2001: James Norick, Ken McFall, Phillip Lorenz, Robert Johnson
2000: Jim Murphy, James Leake, Michaele (Mike) Henson
1999: Sidney Williams, Jimmie Pigg, James Eddie Phillips
1998: Bill Secrest, Bob Portiss
1997: John "Jack" Story, Dr. Wayne Pettyjohn, Lonnie Farmer
1996: Sen. Henry Bellmon, Donald Vandersypen, Phillip Klutts, Ladd Hitch, James Hewgley
1995: Billy Ray Wilson, Paul Thombrugh, Oscar Hughes, Norman Durham
1994: J.K. Lindsey, Bonita Hoeme, Gerald Borelli
1993: Larry Wornom, Paul Miller, J.D. Fleming
1992: Paul Horton, Sen. Ray Giles
1991: Jack Grimmett, Gov. Raymond Gary, Herber Finch, Ed Edmondson
1990: Hoyt Shadid, Lt. Col. Eddie Morris, George Hill
1989: Gov. George Nigh, E.F. "Doc" Coker, M.G. Barclay, Robert Anderson
1988: Loyd Pummill, Ira Husky, Robert Harbison, George Failing, Morrison Cunningham, Julius Cox, Clarence Burch
1987: H. Duane Stratton, Joseph Rarick, Guy Keith, R.K. Johnson
Charles Huddleston, Houston Adams
1986: Col. Francis Wilson, A.A. Sewell, Orville Saunders, George Reid, James Irwin, W.R. Holway, James "Buster" Hight, Marvin Edmison, Early Cass, Lt. Gov. Spencer Bemard, Clarence Base
1985: V. Ray Trent, David Strickland, Leonard Solomon, Harold Scoggins,
Marvin Scherler, Frank Raab, P. Ward Perryman, Harold Norris, Forrest Nelson, Donald McBride, L.L. (Red) Males, Richard Longmire, Glade Kirkpatrick, Robert S. Kerr Jr., Sen. Robert S. Kerr, Newton Graham, Nolen Fuqua, L.B. (Ed) Edinger, Ferdie J. Deering, Jacques Cunningham,
Bemice Crockett, Dr. Lloyd Church, Francis J. Borelli

2014 Water Conference (October 22-23, Oklahoma City, Oklahoma)

2013 Water Conference (October 22-23, Midwest City, Oklahoma)

2012 Water Conference (November 13-14, Tulsa, Oklahoma)

2011 Water Conference (October 18-19, Norman, Oklahoma)


Choctaw Nation
Environmental Federation of Oklahoma
Oklahoma Department of Mines
Oklahoma Sorghum Commission
Freese and Nichols, Inc.
Alan Plummer Associates, Inc.
Oklahoma EPSCoR
United States Geological Survey (USGS)
University of Tulsa College of Law

Visit www.ok.gov, the Oklahoma State Portal
SoonerSearch is a service of the Oklahoma Department of Libraries and OK.GOV
©1998-2016, Oklahoma Water Resources Board
Page last updated: August 22, 2016

This site has been redesigned using Cascading Style Sheets (CSS). If you are seeing this message you are using an older browser which lacks support for CSS. Please upgrade your browser to the latest version of Internet Explorer, Netscape or other CSS compatible browser to view this page properly.