October 5, 2004

FOR FURTHER INFORMATION, PLEASE CONTACT:

Mike Melton, Conference Coordinator 25th Annual Governor's Water Conference Oklahoma Water Resources Board (405) 530-8800

OKC to Host 25th Annual Water Conference

Reflecting the diverse water and environmental issues facing Oklahoma, an assortment of water topics will be addressed by state and national experts at the 25th Annual Governor's Water Conference on October 19-20. This year's two-day event will commence with a Tuesday afternoon Tribal Water Issues Symposium, a forum for discussion of the many water-related issues facing Oklahoma's 38 federally recognized tribes as we work to resolve conflicting claims to water rights and water quality administration. Registration for the event begins at 1:00 p.m. Tuesday and 8:00 a.m. Wednesday at the Cox Convention Center, One Myriad Gardens, in downtown Oklahoma City.

Duane Smith, OWRB Executive Director, and Justice Yvonne Kauger, Oklahoma Supreme Court, will provide the welcome and opening comments at the Symposium on Tribal Claims and Water on day one of the Water Conference program. Other speakers will include Bob Blackburn, Director of the Oklahoma Historical Society; Miles Tolbert, Oklahoma Secretary of the Environment; and Susan Cottingham, Director of the Montana Reserved Water Rights Compact Commission. Following a short break, conferees will hear from Ryan Jackson, Counsel for the U.S. Senate Environment and Public Works Committee; Tomas Benavidez, Town Attorney for Taos, New Mexico; Chad Smith, Principal Chief of the Cherokee Nation; John Berrey, Chairman of the Quapaw Tribe; Bill Anoatubby, Governor of the Chickasaw Nation; and Lindsay Robertson, Associate Professor at the OU College of Law.

OWRB Chairman Ervin Mitchell will initiate proceedings for the formal Conference agenda on Wednesday, October 20, with a video presentation entitled "Oklahoma Water: A Quality of Life." The keynote address will be delivered by Lt. Governor Mary Fallin, followed by a Congressional Senate candidate forum featuring Representative Brad Carson and Dr. Tom Coburn at 9:20 a.m. Some of the other speakers throughout the morning will include Scott Meacham, Director of the Oklahoma office of State Finance, and Kevin Easley, General Manager of the Grand River Dam Authority. A panel of municipal and Rural Water officials will discuss financial and planning issues. Scott Robinson, Director of the Port of Muskogee; Dick Seybolt, Chairman of the Arkansas-Oklahoma Arkansas River Compact Commission; Kevin Conner, Carter and Burgess; and Jim Hasenbeck, Studio Architecture, will contribute to the Water Magazine.

Presentation of Oklahoma Pioneer Awards will kick off the luncheon program. This year's Pioneers include Dr. Joe Taron, Chairman of the Pottawatomie County Development Authority, and Glenn Sullivan, Engineer and first Cabinet Secretary of the Department of Natural Resources under Governor Henry Bellmon. They will join the 97 other Oklahomans who have been honored for their lifetime contributions to the planning, development, management, and conservation of the state's water resources. Following the presentations, the state of Oklahoma's waters will be addressed by Duane Smith, OWRB Executive Director, and Miles Tolbert, Oklahoma Secretary of Environment. The Conference will then hear from Oklahoma's Congressional Delegation and culminate with perspectives from State Legislators, adjourning around 2:30 p.m. Please visit the OWRB Web site at www.owrb.state.ok.us for registration information and an updated conference agenda.